skip to primary navigationskip to content


The School of the Physical Sciences is one of six Schools making up the academic work of the University . It covers Mathematics, Astronomy, Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science, Earth Sciences and Geography.

The School’s aim is to contribute to our understanding of the physical world through excellence in observational, theoretical and experimental science and to extend quantitative, qualitative and combined methodologies to address problems in the fields of biology, technology, medicine, social science and the humanities. In pursuit of these goals, the School coordinates objectives in research, teaching, and infrastructure.