skip to primary navigationskip to content

Council of the School of the Physical Sciences (CSPS)

The Council of the School is the senior body with statutory responsibility for the work of the School.

Under Statute A, the duties of the Council include:

  • The preparation of such academic and financial plans and reports as the General Board shall determine.
  • The allocation of funds made available to it by the General Board amongst the institutions comprising the School.
  • Working with the institutions which comprise the School to ensure institutional and School plans are consistent, realistic and affordable.
  • Consideration of any matter referred to it by the General Board.

In practice, the Council of the School delegates much of its responsibility to various committees, but retains ultimate responsibility.  It however retains direct responsibility for:

  • Setting the overall strategy and plans for the School;
  • Education issues;
  • Appointments to University Bodies;
  • Responses to University consultations on matters that are not resource management;
  • Fundraising;
  • School Governance.

The Council is also the forum for discussions on wider ranging University issues or developments, that are not specifically do to with resource management, and often involves a speaker from outside the School.


Prof. A.L. Greer (Chair) School of the Physical Sciences
Prof. S.A.T. Redfern Department of Earth Sciences
Prof. A.H. Amin
Department of Geography
Prof. N. Peake
Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics
Prof. G.P. Paternain Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics
Prof. R. McMahon Institute of Astronomy
Prof. J.A. Pyle Department of Chemistry
Prof. M. Blamire Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy
Prof. M.A. Parker Department of Physics
Prof. I.D. Abrahams
Issac Newton Institute
Prof. J.A. Dowdeswell Faculty of Earth Sciences and Geography
Dr S.J. Cowley Faculty of Mathematics
Prof. G.F. Gilmore Faculty of Physics and Chemistry
Dr N.A. Rutter Co-opted
George Breckenridge
Undergraduate student representative
Wilhelm Huettenes
Graduate student representative
Prof. J. Robertson (Observer) School of Technology
Dr H. Tilbrook Secretary of the School
Ms K. Leal Deputy Secretary of the School
Mrs S. Wright School Finance Manager


Committee Meeting Dates: 

All Thursdays starting at 10.00 am in Seminar Room E, 17 Mill Lane

1 February 2018

22 February 2018

10 May 2018

7 June 2018



Members of the Council of the School can access Committee papers on the Council of the School of the Physical Sciences Moodle site.